Addictive Chocolate Oatmeal

I plan my meals (breakfasts and lunches because mom cooks dinner) for the weekdays on the previous Sunday.
However, cravings spoil my plans. I was craving for chocolate oatmeal and yogurt parfait yesterday. And so, I had them today!

image
(Overnight) Chocolate Oatmeal topped with banana coins and chia seeds
image
Muesli, yogurt, banana, yogurt, muesli, grapes

image

Took this picture just before I ate the parfait. Isn’t the jar so pretty 💕
My yogurt tasted unusually sour. Is it because it was left out of the refrigerator for 5 hours? So I kinda struggled to finish it partly because it’s too sour for my liking and it’s so filling 😂
I accidentally deleted the photo of my parfait that I posted on Instagram 😩
So that was lunch.

Breakfast was AMAZING. I love warm and baked oatmeal. It has been so long since my last baked oatmeal. I shall bake one soon! So on to my warm bowl of chocolate oatmeal …

CHOCOLATE OATMEAL
1/2c rolled oats
3/4c milk of choice
1/2c water
Pinch of salt
1 tbsp honey or pure maple or agave
1 tbsp cacao or cocoa powder

Method #1: overnight prep
Pour oats, milk, water and salt into a pot and bring it to boil, stirring every now and then. When it starts to bubble vigorously, turn the heat to low and keep stirring. After 10-20 seconds, turn off the heat and let cool. The oats would have soaked up the liquid and look almost dry after a while. Tranfer the pot into the fridge overnight. The next morning, microwave the pot (or transfer to a microwave safe bowl) and microwave for 50 seconds. Stir in cacao/cocoa powder and sweetener and mix well. Pop into the microwave again for 20 seconds. Top with fruits, cacao nibs, chia seeds, chocolate chips, raisins, muesli, peanut butter and anything you can think of. Serve (:
Method #2: immediate
Pour oats, milk (reduce to 1/2c), water and salt into a pot over low to medium heat, stirring occasionally. Turn off the stove when the oats have absorbed most of the liquid. Transfer to your favorite bowl, add toppings and enjoy!

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Fitness and Health Spot says:

    ahh yummy, will try tomorrow morning!

    Like

    1. honeystarx says:

      Thank you (:

      Like

  2. theveganmuffinwoman says:

    This looks so delicious and healthy!

    Like

    1. honeystarx says:

      Yes! Best of both worlds (:

      Like

  3. Ema Jones says:

    Very healthy breakfast..
    Check-out my healthy breakfast,
    Grilled Vegan Sandwiches + Homemade Vegan Cream Cheese
    http://bit.ly/1mXuuhX

    Like

Leave a comment!

