Vegan Waffles

HEY HO HEY HO HEY HO
WAFFLE TIMEEEE

image
Vegan waffles with pure maple syrup, chocolate chia ice cream and chocolate chip rawnola

OH YES CHOCOLATE CHIA ICE CREAM MADE WITHOUT AN ICE CREAM MAKERRRRR. It all started when I really wanted ice cream and I knew chia seeds can act as a thickening agent. I googled chia ice cream and an amazing lady has already created the chocolate chia ice cream. Genius!

image

She made hers using an ice cream maker but I do not have one. Well, don’t worry because it is possible to make without an ice cream maker!!

image

If you have one you can get a more creamy result. But hey, this looks so icecream-like, isn’t it? And it tastes so so good. Just like chocolate ice cream 😍

image

Okay, I’m gonna torture you abit πŸ˜› You shall wait for my next post to get the ice cream recipe which I adapted because I don’t want a super long title for this 😂

image

Now, back to waffles.
These waffles are the best ones I’ve ever tasted. It’s crispy on the outside, soft and fluffy on the insides. It is so fragrant and buttery but there isn’t any butter. It’s clean, healthy, vegan, whole grain, and all that goodness!!

image

Does that look good to you? It’s heaven in my mouth. Substitute other types of flour at your own risk because you may not get the same result. I highly recommend you to get spelt flour if you don’t have it because you can directly substitute it for all purpose white refined unhealthy flour. Your end product will taste just as good and even more nutritious for you. Oat flour can be made by blending rolled oats into flour in your food processor or blender. It’s that easy πŸ˜‰ If you don’t have coconut oil I suppose you can use vegan butter but it won’t be that fragrant, trust me. I used hazelnut milk for this because it’s the only milk I have but I highly recommend coconut milk because it will bring the taste up to a whole new level. There isn’t any sweetener in this recipe so feel free to add 1 tsp to 1 tbsp of sweetener but it’s really really not necessary, trust me.

image

VEGAN WAFFLES
4 tbsp spelt flour
4 tbsp oat flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
Pinch of salt
5 tbsp cold water
3 tbsp + 1 tsp milk of choice
2 tbsp + 2 tsp coconut oil, melted
Combine dry ingredients well.
Whisk in water and milk.
Add in coconut oil and mix well.
The batter will be pretty thick.
Heat up the waffle pan and grease it with coconut oil (highly recommended).
Make sure your waffle iron is well heated. My waffle maker indicates that the iron is hot by switching off its red light.
Drop your batter by spoonfuls onto your waffle pan and spread it out.
Let it cook for 2 to 3 minutes or according to your manufacturer’s instructions. I use a Philips Fiesta waffle maker and I use minimum heat to cook my waffles.
Remember to turn off the switch and remove the plug after it’s done.
Use a plastic or wooden spatula to get the waffle out in order to not scratch the non stick coating of your waffle iron.
Now for the best part, serve with ice cream and pure maple syrup. Best combo ever!
I promise you the recipe for chocolate chia icecream in the next post πŸ™‚

Leave a comment!

