Creamy Triple Chocolate Oatmeal & Milk Tea

image

I realised that whenever I cook oatmeal, I don’t really follow any of my previous recipes and end up creating new ones. Hahah this is because it’s my holidays now and I wanna create as many new ones as possible so when school starts I don’t have to kill more brain cells πŸ˜‰

image

The idea of triple chocolate came when I realised someone has finished my jug of unflavored soy milk. During my weekend family grocery shopping, I bought a chocolate flavored and vanilla flavored soy milk. So I happily took out my chocolate soy milk and poured it into my glass hehe. (I use a glass to measure) The birth of triple chocolate oatmeal!

image
Topped with banana coins, blueberries and grapes

The other day I was craving milk tea so bad I googled “milk tea milk to tea ratio” and I found a wonderful Royal Milk Tea recipe! This recipe is NOT mine because I didn’t adapt it in any way. However I can give you detailed instructions on how I made my dairy free, healthier and vegan version πŸ™‚

image
Toast + milk tea

CREAMY TRIPLE CHOCOLATE OATMEAL
1/2c rolled oats
Pinch of salt
3/4c chocolate (soy/nut/oat/rice) milkΒ 
Up to 1/3c water
2 to 3 tbsp coconut cream (makes the oatmeal super creamy and delicious. It also adds healthy fats which will keep you full longer πŸ™‚ You can omit if you’re watching your calories but I suggest you don’t. You shouldn’t be wasting your calorie count on unhealthy food like whipped cream instead. Coconut cream is never a waste!)
Banana (I used 1/3 of it in my oatmeal and the rest for topping)
1 tsp maca (optional)
Up to 1 tbsp sweetener of choice
1 tbsp cocoa/cacao powder
1 to 2 tbsp chocolate chips
Bring the first 5 ingredients to a boil, turn to low heat and stir occasionally.
When half of the liquid is absorbed, stir in your banana. You can slice your banana into coins or mash it. I prefer chunks of banana in my oatmeal so I chop my banana into coins.
When the oatmeal has reached your desired consistency, turn off the heat, stir in the rest of the ingredients and mix well.

image
Baked oats + milk tea

MILK TEA (makes 1c)
recipe from here
3/4c water
3 to 4 English Breakfast tea bags
1/2c non dairy milk
2 to 4 tsp pure maple syrup
Bring water to boil, add the tea bags with the tags removed, if any. Let it simmer for 2 minutes under low heat.
Pour in your milk and let it simmer under low heat as well.
When small bubbles starts to appear, remove your tea bags. Give the tea bags a squeeze before taking it out. Turn off the heat after you removed all your tea bags.
Pour into serving cup and add sweetener to taste.
To keep it vegan, I did not use honey (which is my usual sweetener for beverages).
Try making this the night before, let it cool and chill in the refrigerator overnight so you’ll have a perfectly chilled milk tea the next day πŸ˜€

4 Comments Add yours

  1. bscartabello says:

    This looks fantastic. I have never cooked with coconut cream, but I see a lot of recipes call for it. I need to hop on that train.

    Thanks for sharing! ❀

    Like

    1. honeystarx says:

      Thank you! Good luck xx

      Like

  2. Thank you so much for linking to my royal milk tea recipe! LOVE your vegan version! πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. honeystarx says:

      Thank you so much for such an awesome recipe!

      Like

Leave a comment!

