Skinny Mac and Cheese Bake

Hello everyone! I’m sorry for my long absence I just don’t have any blog worthy recipes to share. But I’m back with a super worthy recipe to revive this blog hehehe.

image
First experiment: overbaked but still delicious (my not-a-fan-of-healthy-food mom approved)

On the other hand, you can always find me active on instagram and tumblr. I share recipes on tumblr whenever I can’t find the time to blog or the recipe is an adaptation of a recipe found on my blog. You wouldn’t want me to post the same recipe with just one or two different ingredients right? Well, I don’t. HAHAHAH.

image

Okay now I’m so excited to share this with you because I LOVE MAC AND CHEESE. Like who doesn’t? Once in a while I enjoy mac and cheese from restaurants outside and I really really wanna healthify it. And guess what. THIS VERSION IS UNDER 400 CALORIES (WHAAAAT)

image

Yes. Yes it is.
With the help of non fat yogurt. And I actually use full fat cheese since I couldn’t find low fat ones. So if you do use low fat ones, it will be much less in calories!
This doesn’t compromise the taste at all!
And my most favorite part of this recipe is that I can skip cooking my macaroni. Though baking will take little longer, I’m rather lazy to stand in front of the hot stove, staring and stirring it for 10 minutes. Yes I am a lazy person hehe.

image

This requires about 1 hour of prep and baking. Sure you can bake a bigger batch and reheat. You’ll have to bake longer. It will keep fresh, covered, in the refrigerator for a few days. You can even freeze it for a few weeks.
But I prefer it single serving πŸ™„ This can serve two as well.

image

SKINNY MAC AND CHEESE BAKE
1/4c plain yogurt (non fat for lower calories)
1/2c non dairy milk (unsweetened for lower calories)
Salt and pepper to taste
1/3c grated cheddar (low fat for lower calories)
1/2c uncooked whole wheat macaroni
Preheat your oven to 190Β°C.
Whisk yogurt, milk, seasoning and cheese until well combined.
Add in macaroni and mix well.
Don’t worry if there are too much liquid. It will cook the macaroni.
Pour into a greased baking dish and smooth the top.
Cover with aluminium foil and bake for 20 minutes.
After the time has elapsed, remove the foil, top with some more cheese if desired and continue to bake for another 15 to 20 minutes.
It’s ready to serve! Enjoy xx

7 December edit
image

MUSHROOM AND BROCCOLI SKINNY MAC AND CHEESE BAKE
Add up to 1/2c sliced mushrooms to the macaroni mixture before baking. Follow the same steps! Bake for about 25 minutes with the foil covering your baking dish. After the time has elapsed, remove the foil, give your macaroni a mix, put your broccoli on top and bake uncovered for about 20 minutes. Perfect 👌

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Arielle Tan says:

    It looks so good! Your pictures are beautiful, it made me so hungry ❀

    Like

    1. You are so sweet thank you!! xx

      Like

Leave a comment!

