Banana Walnut Espresso Granola

I can forgo my chocolate in granola but I cannot forgo my coffee. Yknow why? Because I can always add chocolate ON my granola. I can never pour coffee on my granola. Based on my java chip granola recipe, idea from @larissabrachvogel’s recommendation to make banana granola, and as for walnuts… well, I just happen to have walnuts sitting in my pantry 🙊 = the birth of Banana Walnut Espresso Granola!

image

I think this granola tastes like popcorn I CAN’T EVEN 😍 I thought it was just me until I fed my parents some and they confirmed that it tastes like popcorn. I AM A HAPPY GIRL! But when I brought some to school, my friends said it doesn’t 😦

image

But they smell so so so good and taste so so so awesome you have have have to make it! Though my friends said it doesn’t taste like popcorn but THEY’RE IN LOVE WITH IT! I still think it tastes like popcorn hahahah. Is it just me 😦 let me know what you think when you make it, yeah?

image

I eat my granola mostly as cereal. And I eat it with soy milk. Granola and vanilla soy milk is heaven ❀ Sometimes, I use it as topping. You can basically sprinkle this over ANYTHING. Smoothies, nana ice creams, oatmeals, pancakes, waffles, yogurt, toast, and the list goes on… OR just eat it plain! 😋

image

I did say that I will make my choco PB granola again and release the recipe but … I ran out of my choco PB 😩 I’m sorry 🙏 I hope this recipe will make up for it //puppy eyes//

image

BANANA WALNUT ESPRESSO GRANOLA
3 tbsp honey
1 tbsp coconut oil
1/2 to 1 large banana
1 to 2 tsp espresso powder
1 1/2c rolled oats
1/2c walnuts, broken into pieces
1 tbsp maca powder (optional)
I like to mash my banana on a flat surface. I find that it’s easier. I used to mash them in the mixing bowl. It works too but there will be larger lumps.
Grab a microwave safe plate and put your peeled banana on top. Microwave for about 10 to 20 seconds and then mash until no lumps.
Transfer your banana puree into a microwave safe bowl, add in honey, coconut oil and espresso powder. Stir to combine, microwave it for 10 seconds and continue stirring.
In a large mixing bowl, mix together the rest of your ingredients well.
Add your banana mixture and mix until every single oat is coated and moist. (i.e. mix very very well)
You can also do all this in one bowl. One large microwave safe bowl πŸ™‚
Line a baking sheet on your baking tray.
Transfer your oats mixture to the tray and spread it out evenly.
Bake for 30 minutes at 150Β°C and remove from the oven to break your granola into clusters. Put it back into the oven and increase the temperature to 160Β°C (don’t have to preheat) for 8 to 10 minutes.
Let cool completely before storing in an air tight jar or container.
Can be kept for up to 2 weeks but I don’t think it will last that long, right? πŸ˜‰

Makes 4 to 5 servings

2 Comments Add yours

  1. This looks/sounds amazing! πŸ˜€

    Like

    1. Aww thank you! It sure was πŸ˜‰β€

      Like

Leave a comment!

