Du Chocolat Review + Du Chocolat Pancakes Recipe

I was lucky enough to be sent a 400g pouch of Drinking Cocoa from the lovely people at Du Chocolat.

image

Du Chocolat is smooth with the lingering richness of dark chocolate and naturally sweetened with Natvia. It’s the taste you crave without the sugar.”
Did I mention I love dark chocolate? Now you know. I especially love 70% dark. That sentence is so damn true. I don’t need to use any sweetener because it is sweet enough on its own. It lures me in because it is REFINED SUGAR FREE. Not only that! It is also gluten free, yeast free, nut free and has no added sugars!
Here are its ingredients:
1. Natvia Natural Sweetener (Erythritol, Steviol Glycosides)
2. Cocoa
3. Emulsifier (Soy Lecithin)
4. Salt
Just 4 ingredients! And it’s technically vegan too πŸ˜‰ According to Du Chocolat themselves, erythritol is a naturally occuring nectar found in fruit, steviol glycosides is from the stevia plant and soy lecithin is made from soya beans. One tablespoon of Du Chocolat Cocoa is only 10.6 cal, 1.18g carbs and 0.01g sugars naturally occurring in cocoa.
Du Chocolat is made with love in Melbourne, Australia from local and imported ingredients. This is chocolate lovers’ heaven I tell ya!

image

I made a glass of Hot Chocolate by warming 1 cup unsweetened organic soy milk and mixing it with 2 tbsp of Du Chocolat Cocoa = heaven 😍 My mom agrees with me! And she rarely agrees with me on healthy food!

image

Get yourself some hot chocolate heaven and it also makes a great Christmas gift! Du Chocolat’s online store is now available internationally! They ship to Singapore, US, China, Hong Kong, Japan, Malaysia, & New Zealand! If you need more information about Du Chocolat, you can visit their website πŸ™‚
Now, with this packet of paradise, of course I have to use it in my baking and cooking, not just for drinking! I’ve been experimenting a lot these few days and I’m having so much fun!

image

First up, I made pancakes and they turned out unexpectedly fluffy. Adapted from my banana pancakes recipe, I replaced oats with barley flour and added Du Chocolat πŸ˜› The result?
image

Chocolatey, sweet and fluffy pancakes that sent me to pancakes coma. Stay tuned! I have MORE recipes coming up πŸ˜‰

image

DU CHOCOLAT BANANA BARLEY PANCAKES
1 banana
1 egg
1/4c barley flour
1 tbsp du chocolat cocoa
1/4 tsp baking powder
Start by mashing your banana on a flat surface until no lumps remain.
In a mixing bowl, beat your egg and add in your banana. Whisk together using a fork.
Add in the rest of your ingredients and mix using a fork until just combined.
Heat your pan and grease with a little bit of coconut oil or oil of choice. Once your pan is hot, turn heat to low and drop the batter by spoonfuls onto your pan.
Flip when the bubbles have popped and the top appears dry. It will take about 1 to 2 minutes on each side. Enjoy!
Ning out xx

One Comment Add yours

  1. yummm! I love du chocolat

    Like

Leave a comment!

