Caramel Espresso Granola

Psssst… I have a granola making routine every 1 to 2 weeks. Granola is perfect for quick, easy and healthy breakfasts. You just pour whatever the amount of granola you like (for me usually 1/3c to 1/2c) into a bowl and pour in your favorite milk (vanilla soy milk!!!!!). Then throw in some fruits. You’re good to go.

image

Have you made my date caramel? Here’s another recipe for you! You can also use it as a sweetener in just about anything and everything. If you don’t have dates, well, buy and make it. Too expensive? Okay, I feel you. I understand. Then replace it with honey or pure maple syrup. Rename to Honey/Maple Espresso Granola πŸ˜€ Or buy St Dalfour Caramel Sauce. It’s awesome and healthier too!

image
Granola with fruits and yogurt is heaven in a jar

I added unsweetened coconut flakes, some raisins and chocolate chips after baking but my mom and brother devoured the coconut flakes while I let my granola cool … The situation was actually quite funny 😂 My brother initially thought it was paper. But once he started eating the coconut flakes, he couldn’t stop! So my granola became naked. LOL!

image
Pairs perfectly with nana ice cream and fruits ❀

This recipe is just awesome. My brother couldn’t stop eating the oats too. And he is absolutely not a fan of healthy food, especially oats. In fact, I think everyone who doesn’t eat healthy won’t like oats. That includes me too. When I first started eating healthy, I don’t eat oats and never made stovetop oatmeal. I tried to include it in my diet by using it as a flour for baking and eventually I tried baked oatmeal. It was damn delicious. Then I decided I should hop on the stovetop oatmeal train. I love creamy and thick oatmeal. Watery oatmeal will never be my thing.

image

Anyways, I think I sidetracked a lot hahah oops.
After it cooled, I transferred it into an air tight glass jar and while I was packing, my brother came into the kitchen and said “can you pour some on a plate?” And then he took a plate, washed and dried it, and handed it to me. Just wow. I’ve never seen him this eager to eat my food before. HAHAHAH.

image

I guess the next time I make granola, I will need to double the recipe. This makes 4 to 6 servings.

CARAMEL ESPRESSO GRANOLA
1/4c date caramel
3 tbsp coconut oilΒ 
1 tsp espresso powder
1 tbsp maca powder
1 1/2c rolled oats
1/2c puffed millet, other puffed cereal, nuts, seeds or rolled oats
1/4 tsp salt
Optional add ons after baking:
Up to 1/2c of coconut flakes, raisins, chocolate chips, etc…
In a small saucepan over low heat, stir together first four ingredients until well incorporated then turn off the heat. In a large mixing bowl, mix together the rest of the ingredients. Preheat your oven to 160Β°C. Pour slightly cooled liquid into the dry ingredients and mix until well coated. Pour onto a wide baking pan lined with baking sheet and spread out your granola. Don’t crowd your granola. Bake for 40 minutes, stirring every 10 minutes. Remove from oven and let cool. You can mix in your add ons at this point. Just beware of itchy hands! (Like my mom and brother who ate the coconut) Once cooled, transfer to an air tight container or jar. Keeps fresh for up to 2 weeks but I doubt it will last a week πŸ˜‰
(Adapted from here)

Β© 2015 Tan Wan Ning, All Rights Reserved.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. overthehills says:

    Hi, where do you get your coconut chips/flakes? I can’t find them anywhere, not even in baking shops like phoon huat. Thanks! πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Hey I’m terribly sorry for the super late reply. I buy them on iherb πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a comment!

