The Best Whole Wheat Banana Bread

When you see overripe bananas, you make banana bread. My all time favorite recipe will not work for me right now because I don’t have spelt flour 😭 I’ve tried other flour combinations but they do not give me the best texture. So I need to use what I have on hand: the tricky whole wheat flour.

image

I think these pictures don’t do any justice. I’m not very happy with these pictures but the recipe is too good to not share. And what’s a recipe post without any pictures? Just bear with me. I’ll update it with better pictures along the way πŸ™‚

image

I really cannot get over how beautiful the colour is. I like to bake my already done banana bread for a few minutes longer to get the crispy outer layer and also the wonderful colour 😍

image

The flavor was unexpectedly perfect. Unexpected because it’s whole wheat flour. I don’t know about you but whole wheat flour (not talking about white whole wheat or whole wheat pastry flours because they actually taste better) makes my baked goods so dense. Tweaking the amounts is necessary.

image

This bad boy came out fluffy and not dense just ohmygoshhhhh ahhhh love at first bite!! It’s also moist but not TOO moist. AND firm yet soft 😍 I will include substitutions to make it vegan for my vegan readers! ❀

image

WHOLE WHEAT BANANA BREAD
3/4c whole wheat flour
1/4c honey (can sub for pure maple syrup, coconut sugar, muscovado or any unrefined sugars)
1 large banana
2 tbsp plain yogurt (can sub soy/coconut yogurt or oil of choice)
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 egg (can sub flax/chia egg or 1/2 mashed banana)
Pinch of salt
In your microwave safe mixing bowl, add in your peeled banana and microwave for 5 to 10 seconds.
Preheat your oven to 170Β°C.
Mash your banana using a fork until little or no lumps remain.
Add in all liquid ingredients and mix to combine.
Add in all dry ingredients and mix until well incorporated.
Pour into a prepared (greased and line with baking sheet) pan and sprinkle some raw sugar on top if you’d like. You can also top with banana coins, blueberries, chocolate chips, rolled oats or cinnamon. Possibilties are endless!
Bake for 40 to 45 minutes and a toothpick inserted in the middle should come out clean.

Β© 2015 Tan Wan Ning, All Rights Reserved.

15 Comments Add yours

  1. Pia Paulsteiner says:

    How will it turn out when using spelt flour? I need to try it because your recipes are amazing πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. I have a honey bread banana recipe using spelt! You can definitely still sub ww for spelt in this recipe. It will definitely be delicious πŸ˜€

      Like

  2. Oh my god! Made this the other day and it was so good!! Made vegan simply because I didn’t have any eggs around but it was awesome! My pan was too big, though. Next time I’ll triple the recipe so it can rise and actually look like bread πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I’m so glad you like it!

      Like

  3. vegancoconutzone says:

    I just baked it and couldn’t wait for it to cool down, so I tasted it still warm aaaand… It’s delicious! The best banana bread I’ve eaten so far. But did you multiple the ingredients? Because I had to use a very small cake mould to make it higher and more like bread than pancake πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so happy you like it! ❀❀ Hahah nope the bread pictured above is exactly the same measurements I used πŸ™‚ My loaf pan is about half of the standard loaf size 🙊 Well, no harm doubling the recipe the next time right 😆

      Like

  4. Sometimes when I so stressed I will look up some recipes(like right now) and planning to make it tomorrow..your blog is the best place for me to release my stress πŸ‘πŸ‘ Planning to make banana bread this weekend πŸ™‰

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww you’re such a sweetheart! I hope you’ll like it as much as I do ❀

      Like

  5. Yum!! Will be trying πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Thank you! Let me know how it goes πŸ˜„

      Like

  6. alifemoment says:

    This banana bread looks delicious (oh by the way the pictures are beautiful- they really make you want to eat it) I will try the recipe,for sure!

    Like

    1. Thank you so much! These words mean a lot to me! I hope you’ll love it!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. alifemoment says:

        You are welcome, I love stopping by and commenting nice post 😊😊😊

        Liked by 1 person

  7. It looks amazing!!! πŸ˜€

    Like

    1. Thank you! It sure tastes amazing too πŸ˜‰

      Like

Leave a comment!

