Basic Baked Oats

A reader has requested for a basic recipe so here you go! I honestly cannot resist not adding fanciful flavors to my baked oats because I really don’t like having oatmeal plain. I topped my baked oats with the other half of my banana hehe.

image

Just kiddingggg. There’s a dollop natural peanut butter…

image

And as a chocoholic:

image

Another request is a banana bread baked oatmeal recipe and so I shall work on a new recipe to bring out the best flavor of a banana bread in oatmeal form πŸ™‚ I shall not let this recipe pass as a banana bread baked oatmeal just because there’s banana! Update: the Banana Bread Baked Oatmeal recipe is in my ebook!

image

I hope you’ll enjoy this and of course, feel free to customise your own flavors or you can check out my awesome flavors under the recipes tab.
Have fun!!

BASIC BAKED OATS
6 tbsp rolled oats
Pinch of salt
6 tbsp milk of choice
1/4 tsp baking powder
1/2 of a large banana*, mashed
1 tbsp honey (or other sweetener of choice)
1/2 tsp vanilla (or omit and use vanilla flavored milk)
The night before, mix your oats with salt and soak in milk. Cover and refrigerate until ready to use. You can keep this for up to 2 days. Alternatively, you can soak for 15 to 20 minutes for immediate baking.
When ready to bake, mix in your baking powder first.
On a plate, mash your banana and add to your oats, along with honey and vanilla. Mix well.
Pour into a greased ramekin and bake at 180Β°C for 24 minutes, then turn up the heat to 220Β°C for 1 minute. Serve immediately πŸ™‚

Some ideas is to sprinkle some coconut/muscovado/demerara sugar on top for the caramelized effect and extra deliciousness. Or you can slice up the rest of your banana and put them on top (what I always do) and also add other sliced fruits like apples or even berries on top too. These are just to keep it simple! I like to add flavors INTO the oatmeal before I bake rather than on top of it πŸ˜›

* all bananas are of different sizes so I cannot guarantee same results everytime. Do keep in mind that more banana puree will result in a very moist and gooey baked oatmeal like this one. (Because I used a larger than usual banana) The specific amount will be 1/4c banana puree.

Β© 2015 Tan Wan Ning, All Rights Reserved.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Isabel says:

    I just made these and they were seriously amazing!!! First recipe I’ve made from your blog and I’m so happy 😊 they turned out so creamy and sweet and perfect ❀️ Delicious! Thanks for the recipe I absolutely LOVE your blog I drool over every pic/recipe 😘

    Like

    1. That’s absolutely sweet of you! I hope you’ll love everything else and THANKS SO MUCH! 😘

      Like

  2. mel1997 says:

    ah this looks sooooo good! πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Thank you!! It definitely is ❀

      Like

  3. Livellion_ says:

    Hehe! I just did a baked oatmeal from your recipe! πŸ˜€ I love it! I add into base 2 soaked dates 1 Tbsp almond butter, handful granola and 1 Tbsp grated almonds! And banana of course πŸ˜€ Delicioussssss! ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww I’m happy you love it πŸ˜„ Omg those sound like the perfect additions! Thank you ❀

      Like

Leave a comment!

