Apple Crumble Cake

Who loves crumble? I love crumble soooooo much I can eat it all on its own. I would love to do that, someday heh.
image

This cake is a real winner. I’m not bluffing (or bragging) and you won’t believe it’s super healthy! All my taste testers loved it so much and a friend even asked if he can buy it from me. 😂🙈

image

Yes, it is healthy because I don’t bake unhealthy. I don’t like baking with butter, all purpose flour, white refined sugar and all those bad stuff. Excluding the crumble, this cake is oil-free/butter-free (whatever you call it) and the whole cake + crumble is refined sugar free WHOOHOO! It can be dairy free too. The crumble can be gluten free if you use GF oats. As for the cake, you should be able to sub for a gluten free flour blend you’re familiar with or GF oat flour (I have many successes with using all oat flour in baking cakes) but I cannot guarantee similar results since I’ve not tried!

image

Also, this cake can be made vegan too. I’ll include the substitutions below.

image

Cut me a slice too when you make it πŸ™‚
Now for the long awaited recipe!

HEALTHY APPLE CRUMBLE CAKE
Cake:
3/4c spelt flour
1/4c light muscovado
1t baking powder
1/8t baking soda
Pinch of salt
6T vanilla soy milk, or milk of choice (if using unflavored, add pure vanilla extract)
5T natural plain yogurt (vegan sub: vegan yogurt)
1 egg (vegan sub: flax/chia egg)
Filling:
1 large apple
1T pure maple syrup, or omit (I omitted because my apple was sweet)
Crumble:
3/4c oat flour (ground rolled oats into flour)
3T demerara or coconut sugarΒ 
3T light muscovado or coconut sugar
Pinch of salt
4T liquid state coconut oil
In a large mixing bowl, combine all the dry ingredients for the cake. In another mixing bowl, whisk the egg then add in milk and yogurt. Whisk until well incorporated. Pour the wet into the dry and stir until just combined.
Pour into a prepared cake pan (sprayed with coconut oil or whatever you prefer) and set aside.
Preheat your oven to 190Β°C.
Peel your apples if you desire, I didn’t. Slice them into thin slices, toss with maple syrup and arrange them on top of the cake batter.
In mixing bowl, mix all dry ingredients for the crumble and then add in your coconut oil and use a fork to mix until crumbles are formed.
Sprinkle crumble all over, covering the apples completely.
Bake the cake for 30Β minutes and let cool for at least 15 minutes before slicing. Serve warm or cold. I like it warm! Keep leftovers covered in the refrigerator for 3 to 4 days but mine didn’t last that long hehe.
Serves 8
Full credits to and adapted from The Best Apple Crumb Cake

8 Comments Add yours

  1. avia says:

    Hi, is there a substitute for yoghurt? Like apple sauce?
    + this looks delicious!! πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Yes you can! But I cannot guarantee similar results 😊

      Like

  2. Amazing! So drool-worthy.

    Like

  3. THIS LOOKS SO GOOD imma make this tomorrow (hopefully) ^_^ AND I SAID THE EXACT SAME THING ABOUT CRUMBLES IN ONE OF MY POSTS ;D crumbles are so good ❀

    Like

    1. Thanks Cathy! ❀ I hope you’ll love it as much as I do! Omg we sure have great chemistry 😏

      Like

  4. Oh wow, this looks great!

    Like

Leave a comment!

