Lazy Brick Toast

image

I’ve never tried Brick Toast aka Honey Toast before. I know that it’s available in Japan and Korea’s cafes but I don’t know if there’s any in Singapore. I came across a few YouTube videos of the traditional Brick Toast and gosh so tempting.

image

Butter and refined sugar is not my thing but this Brick Toast is still sooooo good. Hands down this is the crispest bread I’ve made. Such a great way to eat bread! I like how it only takes a few minutes to prepare everything once I wake up and it just bakes in the oven while I brush my teeth, wash my face, and then when I’m back in the kitchen, it’s ready!
I’m all in for super easy and quick cooking and this is no exception. I don’t have those type of bread called for in traditional Brick Toast so this is perfect for many of us who only have sliced bread at home.

THE LAZY HEALTHY FOODIE’S BRICK TOAST
2 to 3 slices wholegrain bread
Coconut oil, softened or melted
Demerara or coconut sugar
Stack the bread together and cut a hole into the middle, leaving some space around the edges and not cutting all the way through.
So basically the last piece of bread should be intact. For this reason, I highly recommend stacking 2 thick slices or 3 standard slices. You can also tear (or cut into nice squares) another piece of bread to add more “bricks” πŸ˜›
Remove the inner layer and cut (or just tear) into pieces.
Space everything (bread pieces and bread bowl) on a baking tray lined with aluminum foil and preheat your oven to 160Β°C.
Spread coconut oil on one side of the bread pieces (surface with coconut oil facing up when baking) and on all surfaces of the bread bowl.
Generously sprinkle demerara all over and bake for 15 minutes. Turn the heat up to 180Β°C for 1 to 2 minutes and your crispy bread is ready!
To serve, put all the bread pieces (bricks) into the bread bowl, add ice cream, chocolate, fruits and drizzle honey for the perfect finish.
Or just devour straight from the oven πŸ˜€

Β© 2015 Tan Wan Ning, All Rights Reserved.

Leave a comment!

