Lemon Curd

image

The first time I tried lemon curd was on my birthday 2 years ago. I instantly fell in love. But when I picked up a jar of lemon curd and went through the ingredients list, I immediately put it back. It’s full of sugar and loaded with butter 😒😒😒

image
Lemon curd and scones = heaven

Usually curds or custards require you to separate the egg yolks from the whites and I really hate doing that. I don’t want to throw it away or take a further step to store it somewhere and use it another day. Yes, I’m lazy.

image
Lemon pie baked oats!

Recently (like 1 month ago) I got myself addicted toΒ sortedfood and I came across their Key Lime Pie which is perfect because it does not require any separation of eggs and it’s dead simple. Just chuck everything in and whisk. Brilliant! Why not make it into a lemon curd?

Success!!!!!!!!!

image
Lemon curd filled muffins!

HEALTHY LEMON CURD
2 small lemons
1 egg
1/4c demerara sugar
3 1/2 tbsp coconut oil*/Nuttelex or any neutral oil
In a saucepan, zest and juice both lemons.
Whisk in the egg, add demerara and oil.
Heat gently and whisk constantly until it thickens. It will only take a minute or two.
Store it in an air tight jar up to 2 weeks in the fridge!
Makes about 1/2 cup.

*I find that there will be a coconut taste if you eat it on its own, still delicious but if you’re not used to the taste of coconut oil I suggest you replace it.

Β© 2015 Tan Wan Ning, All Rights Reserved.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a comment!

