5 easy and healthy savoury dishes under 10 minutes!

Oh hi everyone!!! Guilty of not posting in forever. Anyone missed me? I guess not HAHAH.

The other day a friend of mine challenged me to create 5 (actually she said 10 but I was like are you crazy I don’t have the time πŸ˜‚) savoury dishes that are healthy, delicious and you can make under 10 minutes. Reason being I make too much sweet stuff HAHAHAH. In my defense, I’m more of a sweet than a savoury person πŸ˜›

Challenge accepted as she told me I inspired her to prepare her own food and really, these type of comments keep me going. The comments I get from you guys here, on tumblr and on my instagram is a huge motivation for me.

You may think I eat clean all the time and I don’t succumb to temptations. Actually, that would have been 100% true half a year ago. Recently, many things happened and I eat more trash and convenience food. Now I’m slowly getting back into healthy eating again.
I used to prepare my own meals all the time and I would actually wake up at 8am on weekends to make breakfast. Nowadays, I can’t get up from bed that early. I wonder how I used to do it in the past πŸ˜‚
I don’t want to be strict on myself. I don’t want to force myself to wake up earlier to prepare meals because I wouldn’t be happy. Eating should be something you look forward to and not something you dread. Eating well will naturally make you feel better too.
It is not that hard to eat clean! As you eat more wholesome foods, your body will crave them. I crave oatmeals, smoothies, eggs and mushrooms. I don’t crave ice creams, fish and chips, potato chips and soda.

Enough of me babbling. Time for the recipes!

image

SPEEDY TOMATO PASTA
1 cup brown rice/whole wheat/quinoa pasta
2 tbsp tomato puree
1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
Black pepper
Garlic powder, optional
Mixed herbs
Cheese, optional
Bring a pan of salted water to a rapid boil.
Add in your pasta of choice and let the pasta cook for about 8 to 10 minutes.
Reserve 1/4c of the pasta water and drain the pasta.
Add the pasta back into the pan, along with the pasta water and mix in everything else listed above.

image

10 MINUTE CHICKEN AND BROCCOLI SANDWICH

image

GRILLED CHEESE SANDWICH
2 slices of bread of choice, I used wholegrain
1 to 2 tbsp nuttelex (healthier alternative to butter)
Handful of freshly grated cheese, I used cheddar and mozzarella
Black pepper
Mixed herbs
Heat up a dry pan.
Place cheese on one slice of bread and sprinkle with mixed herbs and freshly ground black pepper.
Spread nuttelex on the other slice of the bread and sandwich it together, butter side up.
Place your sandwich into the heated pan, butter side down.
While it is in the pan on medium low heat, spread the top side of the sandwich with nuttelex.
After 3 to 4 minutes, flip the sandwich over and toast for 2 minutes.
Cover the pan to trap the heat and ensure the cheese melts. About 2 minutes.
And you have a perfect grilled cheese sandwich!

image

VEGAN CREAMY PASTA

image

BROWN RICE WITH MUSHROOMS AND EGG
1/2 to 1 cup of cooked brown rice, depending on personal serving size and you can replace it with any other grains. (Perfect for using up leftover rice!)
6 sliced white button mushrooms, or mushrooms of choice
Salt and pepper to taste
Dash of sesame oil
1 beaten egg
SautΓ©ed the mushrooms in coconut oil until cooked, about 3 to 4 minutes.
Add in your rice and season with salt and pepper. Stir fry until rice is heated through, about a minute.
Add egg and sesame oil and stir fry until the egg is cooked, about 2 minutes.
Done and ready to serve!

Β© 2014-2016 Tan Wan Ning, All Rights Reserved.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. superfitbabe says:

    Love these ideas! The chicken and broccoli sandwich looks incredible! ❀

    Like

Leave a comment!

