The Best Whole Wheat Pancakes

My favourite flour has always been, and forever will be, spelt flour. However, recently my nearest supermarket has not been carrying stocks of spelt flour for months now. I tried to get alternatives like barley flour and whole wheat flour but I’m not a fan of whole wheat flour especially in pancakes because it makes my pancakes taste like cardboard. I can substitute barley flour in any of my pancake recipes perfectly but whole wheat flour will not yield the best taste ):

image

That doesn’t mean I have to give up, right? Especially after I bought a packet of King Arthur’s Organic Whole Wheat flour. A good whole wheat pancakes recipe is a must.

image

They turned out unexpectedly fluffy, light and absolutely delicious! I made 5 pancakes but … as you can see only 4 were pictured.

image

Sorry not sorry it’s so yummy to not eat on its own 🙈

image

Awesome. Delicious. Healthy. Fluffy. Perfect.

image

WHOLE WHEAT PANCAKES
6 tbsp natural yogurt
2 tbsp milk of choice
1 egg
1 tbsp coconut oil
1 tbsp sweetener of choice
1/2c whole wheat flour
1/4 tsp baking powder
1/8 tsp baking soda
1/8 tsp salt
Whisk together dry ingredients in a mixing bowl.
In another bowl, whisk together yogurt and milk, then add in egg and oil. Whisk well.
Pour the wet ingredients into the dry and mix using a wooden spoon until JUST combined. Lumps are fine. Just make sure that all dry ingredients are well incorporated. The batter will be fairly thick.
Heat up your pan and once hot, drop some oil (I use coconut) on top and tilt your pan to grease the surface. Turn heat to low.
At the same time, preheat your oven to 120°C and line a baking sheet on a large baking tray. This step is to keep your pancakes fresh and warm, totally optional.
Drop large spoonfuls of your batter on your pan and gently spread into a pancake shape. Cook each side for about 1 to 2 minutes. Flip when bubbles appear and the edges look dry.
Once the pancake is done, transfer onto the baking tray and keep warm in the oven.
I topped mine with sweet light cream cheese, strawberries, blueberries and double chocolate granola that I made last night. No exact recipe because I just threw in the ingredients without measuring 😂 Oh, and I drowned my stack with pure maple syrup after the picture 👍

© 2015 Tan Wan Ning, All Rights Reserved.

12 Comments Add yours

  1. dorkyxana says:

    I made these this morning with some few changes and it was absolutely delicious! I just made a blog post about it too! Thank you for sharing this recipe! I’m definitely making more pancakes for breakfast. 🙂 Hope you’re having a wonderful day!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for trying the recipe! I’m glad you loved it! You have a nice day too ❤

      Like

  2. Made it and loved it 🙂 I’m definitely keeping this recipe!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so happy you like it!!

      Like

  3. What is the use of coconut oil? I can’t find any of it,mybe I should use olive oil..

    Like

    1. Yes you can use olive oil (: it replaces melted butter and makes it extra tasty!

      Like

  4. paulabusta says:

    Hello Ning its me Paula OMG Your blog its amazing 🙂 Love You so much ! Everything you do its PERRRRFECT 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re too sweet my dear thank you so much ❤❤

      Like

  5. telishacannon77 says:

    Jesus these look good!!

    Like

Leave a comment!