Gooey Gluten Free Chocolate Cake 

Hey!

I’ve been on a low FODMAP diet for more than 2 weeks now and I am really craving baked goods. I have to be mindful about gluten the most whenever I eat out.

It has also been a very long time since I last baked. I really can’t remember the last time I baked anything but granola. 😂

I was actually craving pancakes so much that I went to buy gluten free baking flour that can be substituted one for one for baking (and pancakes of course!) I got Bob’s Red Mill.

Pancakes plan got cancelled when my mom dragged me to have breakfast with her 😂 But the feels to make something is strong… So I made this low FODMAP chocolate cake. This is super gooey and chocolatey. It’s chocolate heaven!

You can follow my 4 weeks low FODMAP journey here. I also dayre about my life too.

The reason why I am able to bake is because I am on study leave! One less thing to worry about now (aka work). My exams are in less than 2 weeks. 😰😰😰

Okay, now on to the recipe!

LOW FODMAP GOOEY CHOCOLATE CAKE

Gluten free, egg free

1/2 cup lactose free yogurt 

1/2 cup hazelnut milk 

4 to 6 tbsp demerara (I used 4 tbsp, but I found that if it were sweeter it’ll taste even better!) 

2 tbsp coconut oil

1/2 tsp baking powder

4 tbsp cocoa

1/2 cup gluten free flour

1/2 cup chocolate chips, melted 

In a small mixing bowl, melt the chocolate in the microwave in 10 second bursts to prevent the chocolate from burning. Stir with a spatula until chocolate has melted. Leave to cool.

In a larger mixing bowl, mix yogurt, milk, sugar and oil till well combined. Then, add the rest of the ingredients and mix until just combined.

Gently fold in melted chocolate and pour the batter into a baking tin. I used a loaf tin. 

Bake at a preheated 190°C oven for 25 minutes, then lower the temperature to 160°C and bake for another 5 minutes, or check if a toothpick inserted into the middle of the cake comes out clean.

I stored mine in the fridge and heated up the slices before serving 👍

Enjoy!!

Xx, Ning

3 Comments Add yours

  1. superfitbabe says:

    Oh wow, maybe this bread was meant to be because I’d totally eat the entire loaf! Would you reckon that this recipe work with canned pumpkin instead of yogurt? Thanks so much!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. superfitbabe says:

      Oh I totally meant cake. It looked like chocolate bread in the picture, LOL!

      Like

    2. I would recommend mashed banana in place of yogurt as I’ve never tried baking with pumpkin before and I’m not sure how it’ll turn out!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment!