Chocolate and Matcha Oatmeal 

Hey! 

I never got to try out my fave oatmeal recipe written by yours truly back in 2015 (read the post here) because I’m just so tired when I reach home after work? I head straight to my room and slump into my comfy chair and not move for the next hour or few hours. I then sleep too late because I sat there too long, and have to wake up early, so I regret every morning but I do it again anyway. 😂

Moving on from my inability to control my body’s mobility, today is vesak day! It’s a public holiday! And public holiday means….. NO WORK! SLEEPING IN! And the opportunity to cook! And the time to study…

Before I head to my room to study, let me just update this blog with a recipe because good things must share.

I didn’t refer to my previous recipes when I cooked this so I’m very proud at how it turned out and how fuss free it was. I’m all about fuss free because I am a lazy person, if you had not already notice. 😂😂

I woke up at noon, replied my messages and then headed to the kitchen to start cooking. After just 3 minutes, I left my oatmeal to thicken and went to wash up. After washing up, I continued flavouring my brunch and top it with tons of blueberries.

I have got this bucket of blueberries sitting in a fridge. It’s literally a bucket. I saw it at Cold Storage and it costed S$15.90. YES, pricey but worth it. It’s either you get two 125g punnets of blueberries for almost S$10 or you get a 500g bucket of it for a little more money. If you’re from Singapore, I highly recommend you to quickly check it out! 🙂

As you know I am currently on a low FODMAP diet, I talked about it in my previous post. So I went with dark chocolate, matcha (they said green tea is acceptable, I love matcha and matcha has amazing benefits so why not?), blueberries and pure maple syrup!

I also sprinkled a little bee pollen and then realised I can’t consume honey so I probably should not eat bee pollen as well. Opps. I keep track of my low FODMAP diet on my dayre and you can read about the struggles I faced and will be facing lol. 

On to the recipe!

(Ps, I was hunting for my measuring cups as my mom kept it somewhere. And she kept it in the living room cupboard! This just proves how long it has been since I last whipped something up for myself in the kitchen.)

CHOCOLATE AND MATCHA OATMEAL

Heaped 1/4 cup rolled oats

1/2 cup milk of choice

1/4 cup water

Pinch of himalayan pink salt

2 to 4 tbsp chocolate chips of choice, I used dark

2 tsp matcha powder

Pure maple syrup to taste

Add the first four ingredients into your saucepan and bring it to a boil, stirring occasionally. Turn off the heat, stir your oatmeal and put a cover on your saucepan and let it thicken.

After 10 to 15 minutes, it will have thickened. Turn on the heat to low and add in your chocolate and matcha. Stir until all chocolate has melted and serve!

I drizzled pure maple syrup over mine but you also sweeten it at the same time when you add your chocolate and matcha.

Simple, delicious and fuss free. Enjoy!

Xx, Ning

2 Comments Add yours

  1. superfitbabe says:

    Hope FODMAP is still going well! This chocolate and matcha oatmeal does looks nd sound heavenly otherwise! 💚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!!! Yup so far it’s going well 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment!